Charles Trombley

posted in: News | 0

This year, the Charles Trombley Award, which recognizes professors for their excellence both inside and outside of the classroom, will be given a new parameter and will no longer be awarded to repeat winners.

“We wanted to change things up and spread the love,” senior Mallory Hiefield, undergraduate student senate (USS) president said.

Charles Trombley, the man the award was named after, was a professor, Director of Admissions and Dean of Students at Pacific University for more than 30 years after he graduated in 1959. Trombley Square was also built in his honor.

According to Hiefield, the award was named after Trombley for his show of commitment to excellence, community participation and involvement and dedication to students.

“Each year, the award is given to a professor who not only excels in teaching, but who is also involved with students lives outside the classroom,” Hiefield said. “In the past, the same professor would win over and over again. So this allows others to be recognized as well.”

Past award winners like professors Adam Rafalovich, Aaron Greer and professor emeritus Mike Steele will not be eligible to win the award at the end of this year. Voting for the award took place earlier this semester, when a write in option for faculty nominees deserving of the award was available at the end of the ballot for the USS executive board elections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *